Merge by Ryan Elvert

July 23, 2016

The team at NWfPP stumbled upon this fresh new video posted by Black Swamp Percussion. Merge, by Ryan Elvert, is a face paced yet nuanced percussion quartet written for four identical set-ups: 2 bongos, 2 toms, 1 bass drum and 2 metal pipes. 


Check out this description from the C. Alan website where you can buy the piece for $30.


Merge began as an exercise in percussive hocket, where each player is given a part of the whole. This is done so in both the rhythms played in the drums and melody in the tuned pipes. The ascending and deciding lines throughout each performer present a very complex and lyrical conglomeration of rhythms that form a cohesive line.


This video features Rela Percussion playing in the Black Swamp Warehouse in Zeeland, Michigan.






Please reload

 New Works for Percussion Project: 

Founded in 2014, the mission of the New Works for Percussion Project is to advance percussion repertoire and build community through commissions and original content.

 NWfPP Socail 
  • Facebook B&W

9.1.17 Molk commission delivered to participants.

12.1.17 Molk performance period begins.

1.15.18 Gunn commission delivered to participants.

4.15.18 Gunn performance period begins.

12.1.18 Molk performance period ends.

12.15.18 Molk payments due.

4.15.19 Gunn performance period ends.

5.1.19 Gunn payments due.


September 24, 2017

July 1, 2017

March 10, 2017

February 27, 2017

February 6, 2017

July 8, 2016

Please reload

© 2019 by New Works Project

  • Facebook B&W